Music / Review

Introducing: Pip Blom

Check out an incredible indie-pop 4-piece from the Netherlands with a love for 90's alt-rock fronted by the eponymous Pip Blom!

The Sound – Pip Blom mixes the attitude of Kim Deal’s 90s alt-rock heroines The Breeders with a pinch of Sonic Youth and a large helping of Britpop insouciance to produce the sort of pop music that demands you pogo. Check out the menacingly catchy track “Come Home” from the band’s latest Paycheck EP.

Pip Blom – Come Home

The Story

Born and raised in Groningen (the home of  new music fest Eurosonic), Pip Blom (Guitar and Vocals) only had 3 strings on her guitar when she started but that didn’t stop her recording her solo demo album “Short Stories”. Back then her ambition ended at simply writing a few songs and uploading them to the internet in case people wanted to hear them. Then, as she told Noisey something unexpected happened…

“All of a sudden people liked them, added them to their playlists and started writing about them,” she adds. “So then the panic started, as I wasn’t able to play the songs live because there was no band!”

Thankfully a quartet was quickly formed with brother Tender Blom (guitar, vocals), Casper van der Lans (bass) and Gini Cameron (drums) and band took the Pip Blom name for their own to save on the admin. Since that time the band have dropped a succession of indie-gems that have earned them support slots for Surfer Blood, Franz Ferdinand and The Breeders themselves!

 

 

Essential Tracks

Pip Blom – Truth

Pip Blom – I Think I’m In Love

Where can I see Pip Blom play live?

Pip Blom hit UK shores for a fully blown tour in November 2018. Check out all the dates below and get tickets on Ticketmaster.

Wednesday 14 November 2018 – Hyde Park Book Club, Leeds
Thursday 15 November 2018 – Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh
Friday 16 November 2018 – Head of Steam, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Saturday 17 November 2018 – Night & Day Café, Manchester – venue guide
Monday 19 November 2018 – The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
Tuesday 20 November 2018 – Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff
Wednesday 21 November 2018 – Prince Albert, Brighton
Thursday 22 November 2018 – The Lexington, London
Saturday 24 November 2018 – Shipping Forecast, Liverpool
Sunday 25 November 2018 – Upstairs at Whelan’s, Dublin, Ireland
Monday 26 November 2018 – The Cookie, Leicester
Tuesday 27 November 2018 – Boileroom, Guildford
Thursday 10 January 2019 – Paradiso, Amsterdam

Share post